My Fall Bucket List!

It’s that time of year again! The summer has just ended and school has now started. Senior year is going to fly by fast that it’s a little scary. There are still so many things I haven’t done here in Des Moines that I know I would regret not doing before I leave. I’ve never been one to really make a bucket list and stick to it but being at the end of an important chapter of my life I feel if I’m going to do it, now is the time.

Fall is one of my favorite seasons; the smells, colors, and activities are all so amazing it would be a shame not to take advantage of everything. While some of my goals are senior or school related there’s also a lot of things I want to do just because it’s fall.

Visit Center Grove Orchard. This is the best apple orchard/pumpkin patch in the Des Moines area. It’s a little bit of a drive but totally worth it! Every year my sorority goes for a sisterhood event and it’s always so much fun. They have hay rides, an inflatable trampoline, a maze, great food, games, and A CORN PIT!! If you’re in Des Moines and you have never been I encourage you to check it out! If you live elsewhere there are always orchards around in the fall and they are totally worth your time.

Get Organized. Senior year you can get caught up in all the little things like attending every basketball game and on campus event just because it’s your “last one”. My plan is to take all the things I want to go to this semester and compile them into 1 calendar to make sure I don’t miss anything!

Plan for the Future. Another part of senior year is planning what you want to do after college. This probably will not fully happen this fall/semester but it is my goal to get started and at least figure out a couple options on where I might want to live so that I know where to apply to jobs. I spent a lot of the summer getting rid of old things and condensing my room to make the move easier but there is still so much more to be done!! Baby steps.

Attend Fall Sporting Events. Again senioritous. There are so many fun sporting events that happen here at Drake in the fall. So many football, basketball, and soccer games! I want to show my school spirit as much as I can!

Make a Pumpkin Something. Fall = pumpkin things and since I love to cook I feel like I need to learn to properly use this ingredient. I don’t want a simple pumpkin spiced latte or pumpkin pie, I want something super cool and special. Stay tuned this fall in my food section for what I end up making!

Sleepy Hollow. I’ve never been to a real haunted house but I heard this one in Iowa is amazing! It’s the largest Midwest Halloween theme park so I can’t miss out on this opportunity!! I love a good scary movie so I can’t wait to get a good real life scare 🙂

Octoberfest. I may only be in Des Moines but I know there is some kind of street festival or Octoberfest celebration somewhere and being 21 in the fall for the first time I’m fully prepared to attend.

Get Good Grades. This is a given being in school but it needs to be a priority. There will be a lot of distractions this year but it’s important to remember that school comes first. It’s my last year and I want to do the best I can and make my GPA as high as possible!

That’s all I have for now! More will definitely come up as the semester progresses but it’s good to get a starter list going. I love trying new things so if you have an suggestions comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

